Science Fiction & Fantasy

Where Liberty Lies

Category:Science Fiction & Fantasy

Author:Nathaniel M Wrey

  • Publisher: Waterman Books
  • Publication Date: April 21, 2023
  • Number of Pages: 472
  • ISBN-10: 1916370579
  • ISBN-13: 9781916370579
  • ASIN: B0BYT73W8N

Where Liberty Lies by Nathaniel M. Wrey, the second installment in the Liberty series, is a hugely imaginative and engaging sequel that immerses readers in a dystopian world. Following their rebellion against a corrupt regime, Finbarl, Aminatra, and Karlmon set out on a quest for freedom in a post-apocalyptic, desolate world. Wrey is adept at exploring the desolation of the world these characters inhabit, vividly portraying the aftermath of the collapse of a civilization. The trio's pursuit of a utopia is met with fresh challenges, surprises, and the harsh realities of warring city-states. The initial promise of a revived civilization is shattered by deception and illusions, forcing the characters into a personal struggle for survival and freedom.

The introduction of intriguing characters, such as the Ferral girl Maddy, defies stereotypes and enriches the narrative. The story explores themes of trust, compassion, friendship, and the fight for survival in a hostile environment. Well-crafted surprises, engaging set pieces, and the repercussions of choices maintain the narrative's allure. Wrey is a master at crafting sparkling dialogues, creating dramatic scenes on every page. The characters come alive in these dialogues and they are wonderfully imagined and expertly executed to build tension while moving the plot forward. The narrative's unpredictability, unexpected twists, and evolving character dynamics make Where Liberty Lies a wonderful literary creation.

Reviewed By: Matthew Novak

Reviewed Date: January 8, 2024

Category: Science Fiction & Fantasy

Sci-Fi & Fantasy