Romance - Contemporary

Crossing the Line

Category:Romance - Contemporary

Author:Joy Slaughter

  • Publisher: Flashover Press
  • Publication Date: March 10, 2016
  • Number of Pages: 358
  • ISBN-10: 0578584719
  • ISBN-13: 978-0578584713
  • ASIN: B07ZBL43J3

Two genuinely flawed and humanly broken characters embark on a journey to healing and love in Joy Slaughter's Crossing the Line, an immersive romance that will have a strong appeal to fans of Sci-Fi and Literary Fiction. Megan Henderson, an EMS worker for Sacred Heart Hospital has a new partner, Nathan Thompson. Nathan is a war veteran who lost his leg in Afghanistan and Megan can't trust that he can handle the job but is surprised to discover that being fitted with a prosthetic doesn't affect him at all. While Megan can't fully trust Nathan, he thinks she is bossy and patronizing. When Nathan notices bruises on her arm, he is worried. Other signs lead Nathan to believe that Megan is being beaten and hurt by her husband. He pushes her to do something about her situation, threatening to report Todd. As they work together, feelings for each other begin to grow, eventually blossoming to an explosive romance.

This is a wonderfully crafted humane tale that should burnish the author's reputation as a first-rate storyteller. Slaughter introduces readers to two characters that are complex and incredibly sculpted, each bearing scars from the past. They work in the EMS and the author imbues this world with life, giving readers powerful glimpses of what it feels like to work as an EMS. Apart from Nathan and Megan, there are other fully drawn supporting characters like Megan's abusive husband, Todd. Todd is a police officer and is in a position to coerce his wife to silence. This book offers an exciting journey for readers, from the protagonists’ opposite personalities and distrust for each other to discovering a strong attraction for each other and mutual respect. It is original and bears the marks of stellar literary creation. Slaughter's Crossing the Line is a deft, balanced, and utterly delightful read with characters that readers will stay with throughout the breezy ride.his shift  

Reviewed By: Franklin Bauer

Reviewed Date: October 3, 2022

Category: Romance - Contemporary